raw(e) distractions

16 Mar
This week the RAW(e) photo challenge is taking a different turn. 
The subject is distractions, or rather, 
ONE distraction. 
The one thing that keeps you distracted from God, duties, family, etc. 

 I have to say the computer is my numero uno distraction. I get distracted by blogs (mine and others’), editing photos, email…the list goes on and on.  
Why? 
Because I can turn my brain off and surf to my heart’s content. 
But usually my heart is not content. 
I am overwhelmed by house work, relationships that need attention, planning that needs to be done, and time that should be spent with God.
And instead of doing those things, I go on auto-pilot and zone out in front of the screen. 
In light of all this, I have decided to go on a computer fast. This has been such a convicting exercise (thanks, Sami!) that I want to run with it and see where the Lord leads me. 
So, ta-ta for now! 
I’ll see you in a few days. 
P.S. Don’t forget to go over to Sami’s blog and see what distracts everyone else!
4 Responses to “raw(e) distractions”

  1. Heather March 16, 2010 at 6:51 pm #

    I can totally relate!

  2. Sailor and Co March 16, 2010 at 9:27 pm #

    Quit writing about me on your blog 🙂 jk

  3. ms emili louann March 16, 2010 at 10:16 pm #

    this is a huge one for me, too. blogger and facebook. fasting is lovely idea from time to time 🙂

  4. CFMama March 17, 2010 at 9:12 am #

    Yes, I agree with Heather. I can totally relate. Enjoy your mini hiatus from the computer. I went to Lake George in the fall without our laptop and felt totally liberated. I must admit it WAS a little difficult though.

your turn to scribble something

