life and death

21 Apr
I’ve been dealing with a lot of condemnation lately. 
Feelings of guilt, 
shame, 
inadequacy,
unfaithfulness.

Then it occured to me yesterday, that most of what I’ve been dwelling on is not truth. 


Instead I have allowed the Enemy of My Soul to push those familiar buttons. 
Attack my mind and make me 
ineffective,
powerless,
apathetic, 
defeated. 

As I read the words of Paul in Romans 7, I could totally relate.

“I love God’s law with all my heart. But there is another power within me that is at war with my mind. This power makes me a slave to the sin that is still within me. Oh, what a miserable person I am! Who will free me from this life that is dominated by sin and death? Thank God! The answer is in Jesus Christ our Lord. So you see how it is: In my mind I really want to obey God’s law, but because of my sinful nature I am a slave to sin.”
Romans 7:22-25

My mind. 
That is the key. 

What is my mind set on?
Life 
or 
Death?

Right then and there I (once again) decided to set my mind on Life. 
His never-condemning,
strength-giving,
truth-telling
Life.

“If your sinful nature controls your mind, there is death. But if the Holy Spirit controls your mind, there is life and peace.”
Romans 8:6

Life and Peace.
This is what I choose. 
Lord, please help me to walk in Your Spirit each and every day. 
Remind me frequently that You have set me free from sin and death.
Help me to discern between Your Truth and the lies of the enemy.
You are my Way, my Truth and my Life!

One Response to “life and death”

  1. accesskas27 April 22, 2010 at 12:07 pm #

    Good job! It's easy to allow those thoughts to start to control how we think and act…. but we need to take every thought captive! Great blog!

your turn to scribble something

