feeding on Jesus

5 Jun
I live because of the living Father who sent me; in the same way, anyone who feeds on me will live because of me. 
John 6:57

Awhile back I was listening to a sermon on
Jesus being our Food and Drink. 
And how, in order to receive Life, 
we must continually be filling ourselves with Him. 

The Lord brought 1 Kings 19:1-8 to mind. 

There we read that the prophet Elijah is 
scared, 
weary 
and discouraged. 

He runs away into the desert 
from a blood-thirsty queen, 
asks God to let him die, 
and falls asleep. 

The angel of the Lord comes to him and wakes him up, providing food and drink for him. Elijah eats, 
but he goes right back to sleep. 
A little refreshed maybe, but still not going on in his journey. 
The angel wakes him again and says in essence, 
“Get up! You need to eat all you can or you will not have the strength you need for this difficult journey!” 
This time Elijah gets up, eats and drinks, and receives all the strength he needs to make it to the mountain of God.  

So what does this have to do with us me?

Lately, I have been weary,
kind of running into the desert,
just wanting to leave all the hard stuff behind.
I’ve been “feeding” on Jesus a little here and a little there, 
but mostly I just want to “sleep.”
Snacking on Truth, 
but being lulled back into spiritual slumber.

But now the Lord is saying, 
“Get up! 
Feed on Me and be fully strengthened.
The journey ahead requires stamina and energy.
If you do not receive your strength and nourishment from Me,
you will be too weak to make it up this mountain of obedience I have called you to.”

I see a feast before me. 
Will you join me at the table?



your turn to scribble something

