not keeping silent

12 Oct
The other night at church, during praise and worship,
I was moved to pray a prayer of thanksgiving to the Lord for all that He has done for me.
(I am on the worship team and spontaneous prayer during worship is not uncommon in our fellowship.)
But, I hesitated.
I thought of the more eloquent pray-ers surrounding me, and I got intimidated.
Then the Lord brought to mind this scripture:

“I tell you,” he replied, “if they keep quiet, the stones will cry out.”
Luke 19:40

How humbling.
The stones will praise him if we do not.
Because all of creation is made to worship the Creator.

But, how much more should I  be crying out in praise, than the stones?
Because not only am I created,

I am redeemed,

given new Life,

lavished with mercy and grace,

and loved beyond measure by the Creator himself.

If that’s not enough to loosen my tongue, then I don’t know what else would!

So again, I say with thanksgiving and wonder…

Bless the Lord, O my soul!
He is worthy of all praise and honor and glory!




your turn to scribble something

