masquerading

30 Jan

This week the home school co-op that we participate in held a Masquerade Party.

 Sam was a Buccaneers Football player

and Ava was a chick…

a very unhappy chick.

Before the party started, the kids listened to the account of Jacob (in the Bible) who “masqueraded” as someone he was not to deceive his father. We talked about how playing dress up, and pretending to be a cowboy or ballerina or football player is fun. But, that pretending to be someone or something that we are not-to trick others-is lying, and always leads to trouble.

It got me thinking…do I pretend to be someone or something I’m not?

Do I try to project an image of having it together all the time?  (I hope not, because I don’t!)

Do I try to appear above spiritual need, so that no one will know the real struggles that I deal with?

As I thought about these (and other) questions, this passage came to mind:

Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my thoughts.

Point out anything in me that offends you, and lead me along the path of everlasting life.

Psalm 139:23-24

Search me, O Lord, and point out anything that I do or say to masquerade as someone I am not.

 

your turn to scribble something

