do as I say…

7 Feb

Yesterday Marko and I talked to Sam, laying ground rules for the privilege of playing video games. One of the rules we made was no playing on Saturday. Our church happens to meet on Saturday night and we feel that the day should be set aside to focus on the Lord and prepare ourselves to receive what he has for us during the service.

As we talked to Sam, Marko and I looked at each other with conviction in our eyes.

We need to heed our own advice.

Too many times we spend countless hours on Saturday mindlessly surfing the web, watching movies or doing activities that do nothing to get us into the presence of God. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t think these things are bad in and of themselves. But they can definitely serve to distract us from tuning in to the voice of the Lord.

How can I concentrate on the greatness of God, while I’m absorbed in Facebook?

How can I prepare my heart to receive correction or instruction, if I’m watching a movie filled with pride and vanity?

It just doesn’t work.

And it definitely doesn’t set a good example for Sam.

How can we expect him to cultivate eyes that see, and ears that hear the Lord, if we aren’t modeling it for him?

We want to raise our kids so they delight in spending time with Jesus above all else.

“I delight in your decrees;
   I will not neglect your word.” Psalm 119:16

So that seeking Him is their highest aim.

“One thing I ask from the LORD,
   this only do I seek:
that I may dwell in the house of the LORD
   all the days of my life,
to gaze on the beauty of the LORD
   and to seek him in his temple.” Psalm 27:4

So my prayer today?

 Lord, please make it my delight to seek You each and every day. That I would know You and love You more, because of the time I spend in Your presence. Please help me express to my children the joy and satisfaction that comes from seeking Your face and walking in Your ways.  

 

 

2 Responses to “do as I say…”

  1. Esther Irish February 10, 2011 at 4:14 pm #

    Thank you for this great reminder. I’ve been convicted about telling the kids their work has to be done before they play yet I find myself “playing” and my work isn’t done… Sigh.

    • snapshotsnscribbles February 10, 2011 at 11:16 pm #

      Ugh…me too. The Lord has really been working on me in this area. It’s good, but hard!

your turn to scribble something

