my heart stopped

17 Feb

Today I read something that made my heart stop.

Some friends with a son that has CF, found out that their newborn daughter also has CF.

Ugh.

And in that instant, I was confronted with all the fears that come with carrying a child that could have CF as well. Fears that I have pushed to the back of my mind and heart.  Fears that I thought I had dealt with. But here they were, staring me in the face. Mocking me and challenging the very beliefs that I cling to.

And then it came.

The realization that God is still God…and good. And regardless of the circumstances, He is the Peace that comforts me. The Strength that carries me. The One who sees and knows the babe in my womb. He created her. He formed her. He has already numbered her days. And that makes my heart beat again.

 I sought the LORD, and he answered me;
   he delivered me from all my fears. Psalm 34:4

 

2 Responses to “my heart stopped”

  1. suzannebrandsen February 21, 2011 at 3:51 pm #

    Hi,

    I came across your blog today while searching wordpress about cystic fibrosis (I also have CF) and I wanted to let you know I just thought your blog was beautiful! Especially this post. Psalm 34:4 is so true in my life as well, which would make sense if you ever saw my blog.

    Thanks for the encouragement, best wishes for your adorable little family! 🙂
    Suzanne

    • snapshotsnscribbles February 21, 2011 at 11:44 pm #

      Thanks, Suzanne! I look forward to checking out your blog and reading about your CF experience.

your turn to scribble something

