sucking my thumb

28 Mar

Right now we are in the throes of a thumb sucking intervention.

My son, Sam, has sucked his thumb since he was a baby. And the habit has become part of who he is. To say that it is hard for him to stop, is the understatement of the year. In large part, it is because he doesn’t want to stop. Our warnings about dental problems and being too old to continue this habit, fall on deaf ears. Our constant “Take your thumb out.” are met with sly smiles or a turned head to try to hide his “transgression.” Sometimes, when he thinks I’m not watching, he slips his thumb in his mouth. When I tell him to take it out he exclaims, “How did you know?!”

The other day as the battle raged on, the Lord spoke to my heart,

“You’re like Sam. You too, have habits sin that you don’t want to give up. When I try to show you that they are harmful to you, you don’t really believe Me. Or, the consequences don’t seem serious enough for you to stop. What will it take for you to give them up?”

Sobering words.

True words.

Words that I understand from a parent’s view point, because I know the struggle of trying to help my child overcome a practice that doesn’t benefit him.

I am humbled.

And convicted.

And brought to repentance by His simple words.

“Take your thumb out.”

How true it is, that I ignore the Lord’s warning about the “insignificant” sins in my life. The things I’m in such a habit of doing, that sometimes I don’t even realize I’m doing them.  Or worse, I turn my head and try to hide my sin. They are comfortable and comforting.

Until the Lord reminds me again.

“Take your thumb out.”

Oh Lord! Help me to believe You and turn from the sins that I hold onto. I don’t want to be a “thumb sucker” anymore.

 

2 Responses to “sucking my thumb”

  1. Joy June 15, 2011 at 11:03 am #

    So true. I just heard a message on something like this with this verse that really got me thinking about myself and things I’m not willing to let go of: “Those who cling to worthless idols forfeit the grace that could be theirs.” Jonah 2:8.
    I hope it goes well with your son. I know thumb-sucking can cause dental problems. I am always on the look out for resources to help me care for my kids. Found this Mom’s Guide to Caring for Little Teeth (http://www.1dental.com/moms-guide/). It has some great tips for all ages. Hope its a help to you too.

your turn to scribble something

