don’t be surprised

4 Jun

Dear friends, don’t be surprised at the fiery trials you are going through, as if something strange were happening to you.

1 Peter 4:12

I don’t know why, but I’m always surprised at the spiritual war that wages inside of me. I forget so easily that the struggle is not just between my flesh and my wish to do good, but that there is a supernatural dynamic going on as well. The enemy of my soul has one goal in mind. To kill, steal and destroy the relationship that I have with Jesus.

To bring death where there should be Life.

To lie so convincingly that I forget the Truth.

To beat me down and discourage me so that I cannot find Hope.

And then I read this scripture and I’m reminded.

Don’t be surprised.

Oh.

Right.

There is more going on than meets the eye. I need to return my focus to Christ and fill my mind with His truth. Stick my fingers in my ears and say, “Lalalala” when the liar’s voice gets too loud. Stand strong in the power of His might and fight like my life depends on it. Because it does.

One Response to “don’t be surprised”

  1. Mom June 4, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

    That’s so true, Lis. The battle is the Lord’s as is the victory! What a privilege it is to plead the precious blood of Jesus over our minds when the enemy comes knocking; and to be able to rebuke him in Jesus’ name AND he has to leave…… How great is our God! 🙂

your turn to scribble something

