here’s the thing…

10 Jun

I’ve stopped trying to figure out why God does things the way He does.

I’ve just concluded that He does everything for a purpose…and for my good. Maybe this should’ve been my first clue.

“And we know that God causes everything to work together for the good of those who love God and are called according to his purpose for them.” Romans 8:28

But he doesn’t just cause everything to work together, like some puppet master who only has a limited number of strings to pull. He made all the strings in the first place…and can make a new string if the existing ones don’t do the trick. Ok, maybe that’s a bad example..and getting off of the subject a little.

My point is this:

There are many times in my life that things happen that I do not like or understand. But I’ve come to realize that the Lord really does know what He’s doing when He brings or allows these situations to come about. He is working everything for my good. Maybe not “my good” as I see it, but that’s not what the verse says. The key is “according to his purpose for them.”

And what is that purpose?

To form me into His image. To produce in me the very character that He possesses.

For my good…

He has given me children, to teach me patience (and unselfishness, and compassion, and gentleness, and…).

He has placed hard-to-love people in my life, to teach me how to love.

He has placed trials in my life, to teach me to rely on His strength.

For. my. good.

And for His glory…which is really the point of it all anyways.

I mean honestly. If I’m all (or ANY) of these things, it’s because the power of God is at work in my life. I don’t have a compassionate bone in my body. Or a patient one, either. These characteristics are purely an act of God. And what better way to glorify Jesus than to show the world that the only “good” I have comes from Him?

If that is accomplished by Him working in ways that I don’t always understand, so be it.

Because He is Good. And everything He does is good.

 

 

 

2 Responses to “here’s the thing…”

  1. Tessa June 10, 2011 at 7:30 am #

    Thank you for the reminder. I have had the chorus of the song “Unanswered Prayers” by Garth Brooks stuck in my head for days and I don’t even listen to country music. I often think about all of the blessings that I have received but don’t realize it and this post was perfectly timed!

    Thanks again!
    Blessings,
    Tessa

your turn to scribble something

