day 4

14 Jul

Passage: Gen. 40:12-50:26 

The Lord uses bad circumstances for our good.

“…And he said again, “I am Joseph, your brother, whom you sold into slavery in Egypt. But don’t be upset, and don’t be angry with yourselves for selling me to this place. It was God who sent me here ahead of you to preserve your lives. This famine that has ravaged the land for two years will last five more years, and there will be neither plowing nor harvesting. God has sent me ahead of you to keep you and your families alive and to preserve many survivors. So it was God who sent me here, not you!…” {Gen. 45:4b-8a}

Who would have thought that being sold {by your own brothers} as a slave to foreigners, being wrongly accused of sexual harassment, and being thrown into jail for two years, could ever come to any good? Not me!

But Joseph knew better.

He knew that every day of his life was ordered by God. And that every situation that he found himself in was part of God’s plan to accomplish His purposes…for Joseph’s good and the good of his family.

How many times do I dig my heels in when things aren’t going my way? I protest and whine and complain. I question God’s decision-making skills or worse yet, demand pray that things turn in my favor.

But He knows what is best for me. And sometimes what is best is a hard road. But the result is always blessing.

Lord, You are the One who knows me better than I know myself. Thank you for the difficult times, when I don’t understand what You’re doing. I know that You will never leave me or forsake me and that all Your works are done for my good. Please help me to {joyfully} surrender to Your will instead of clinging to my own illusions of comfort and happiness. Like Joseph, give me eyes to see that You are sovereign over everything that happens to me. Amen

2 Responses to “day 4”

  1. Mom July 15, 2011 at 6:32 pm #

    Amen, Lis! Am realizing that surrender to the Lord is the safest place to be…<3 You!

  2. Aurelia September 26, 2012 at 2:19 pm #

    Amen Amen Amen!!!

your turn to scribble something

