day 5

16 Jul

Passage: Exodus 1:1-15:18 

My sin {and the consequences of it} affect the lives of others.

“All the firstborn sons will die in every family in Egypt, from the oldest son of Pharaoh, who sits on his throne, to the oldest son of his lowliest servant girl who grinds the flour. Even the firstborn of all the livestock will die.” {Exodus 11:5}

Because of the sin of one man, every family in Egypt lost their firstborn son.

Because

of

sin.

Now, my sins may not have that extreme of an effect on anyone. But they do impact others. Often in ways that I’m not even aware of. How far-reaching are the effects of my selfishness, laziness, envy and gossip?  What about the sins that I commit by not sharing that encouraging word I’m supposed to give, or neglecting to pray for someone who the Lord lays on my heart. I can get so wrapped up in myself that I forget that my words and actions impact the lives of others as well.

So my prayer today is this…

Father, please make me aware of the impact that my sin has on others. May it cause me to be more mindful of my words and actions, always striving to obey You in all things…for the good of myself and those around me. Amen

your turn to scribble something

