day 9/10

21 Jul

“If you obey My laws and regulations, you will find life through them. I am the Lord.” {Leviticus 18:5}

What comes to mind when you think of LIFE?

I think of vibrant green leaves,

new babies crying that new baby cry,

laughter and activity,

deep, fresh breaths of air.

Good things.

Then why, oh, why do I hesitate to obey the commands of God??

He says that His laws bring life. And I know it to be true. But I have a forgetful heart. And when the road is long and the night is dark I want what’s easy.

So I settle for the imitation life of the world, instead of the real life from the Word.

It’s like eating a “burger” from McDonald’s instead of a nice juicy hamburger fresh off the grill. There really is no comparison, but the fast food is quick and easy and keeps me going for the moment. Nevermind that the junk it’s made of outweighs the nourishment that I receive.

But I’m tired of eating junk. I want real food. I want to nourish my soul with the Life from heaven.

“Then Jesus explained: “My nourishment comes from doing the will of God, who sent me, and from finishing his work.” {John 4:34}

your turn to scribble something

